Valley View Junior High Attendance Policy
There is a direct correlation between student attendance and academic success in school. Students who attend school with a high degree of regularity greatly increase the likelihood of achieving academic success, and they develop good habits for work after high school. Ohio’s compulsory school laws require students to attend school and establish legal penalties for both students and parents who violate these laws. Any questions concerning the authority or guidelines used for excusing student absences from school are outlined in the ORC 3321.04, ORC 2151.011, and Ch. 3301-51 of the Ohio Administrative Code, and HB 410.
Good attendance results in success at school. Therefore, Valley View Junior High School strongly encourages regular attendance in accordance with the Ohio Compulsory Attendance Laws and the Missing Children’s Act (ORC. 3321.04). Parents are asked to call to report their child’s absence from school at 937-696-2591 as soon as they are aware of their child’s absence. The school will attempt to contact the parent of each absent student who is not reported. Regardless of whether the communication is made, students who miss all or part of the previous day must report to the attendance office with a signed parental note or doctor’s certification upon their return, prior to the start of the school day (before 7:28 am). Failure to supply an acceptable note upon return to school results in an unexcused absence. Absences are either excused or unexcused. It is possible for a student to be unexcused even though a parent gives permission for the absence. Students arriving or leaving school for a doctor’s appointment must bring a doctor’s certification upon return to school, in order for the absence to be excused.
PLEASE NOTE: Parents will be notified by mail of student absences (with or without excuse) when they reach the threshold of 38+ hours in a month, or 65+ hours in a school year. This notice will be sent within 7 days of the absence that triggered the notice.
Early Dismissal (including medical excuses)
No student will be allowed to leave school prior to dismissal time without either:
- A written request signed by the parent or guardian or,
- The parent or guardian coming to the school office to request and sign for the release or
- Via a parental phone call. No student will be released to a person other than a custodial parent or guardian without a permission note signed by the custodial parent or guardian or verified parental permission or
- A student may be released on his /her own only with verified parental permission.
Excused Absence Defined
The following are examples of what the school will consider legitimate reasons for students to miss school:
- Personal illness (chronic absences due to illness may require a doctor’s note);
- Quarantine of the home;
- Serious illness or death in the immediate family;
- Emergency circumstances, as granted by the principal;
- Authorized religious holiday;
- Approved school activities.
Excused Absence Guidelines
Valley View students may miss up to five days of school per semester, without a medical excuse, provided the reasons comply with the previous list of legitimate reasons for an excused absence, and a parent note is supplied. Each school day missed is counted as a separate absence. Excused absences beyond five school days per semester (limit 5 days covered by parent notes/semester) MUST be accompanied by a medical excuse, or the absence will be treated as unexcused.
Unexcused Absence Defined
The Following are some examples of an unexcused absence:
- Truancy; includes but not limited to exceeding 5 note parent limit per semester
- Trips not approved in advance;
- Missing the school bus, and/or car trouble, and/or oversleeping;
- Attending games;
- Gainful employment;
- Taking your son or daughter to work day or other celebrations;
- Hair appointments;
- Job hunting;
- Any other absences deemed unexcused by the administration.
Unexcused Absence Guidelines
Any absence which is not excused or pre-approved (including truancies/class cuts), or are beyond the 5 day parent note limit per semester, without a medical excuse will be considered unexcused and the student is considered truant.
Students who are unexcused or are beyond their 5 parental notes per semester are considered truant and will not receive credit for school work that is missed (unless a legitimate doctor’s excuse is received which excuses the absence(s), or credit for make-up work is approved by the Principal.
Students will be disciplined for unexcused absences per the code of conduct. Students and parents may be cited to Montgomery County Juvenile Court or Miamisburg Satellite Court for not attending school.
Habitual Absences/Tardy/Truancy Policy
A student’s excessive or habitual absence, tardiness, or truancy to school, will result in a requirement for their parent(s) to attend an Attendance Intervention Meeting in accordance with ORC 3313.663, ORC 2151.011(B)(17), and HB 410.
Legally a student is considered habitually truant if the student is absent without a legitimate excuse for:
- 30 or more consecutive hours (approx. 5 school days)
- 42 or more hours in a month (approx. 6 school days)
- 72 or more hours in a year (approx. 12 school days)
When a student becomes “Habitually Truant”, the student and parent/guardian may be referred to an Attendance Intervention Meeting and an Absence Intervention Plan (AIP) will be developed. As mandated by Ohio law, failure of the student to make satisfactory progress per the AIP will require a court complaint to be filed.
If a student becomes habitually truant within 21 days of the end of the school year, a school official may be assigned to develop an absence intervention plan during the summer, or the school may reconvene the absence intervention process on the first day of the next school year.
PLEASE NOTE: per H.B. 410, Parents will be notified by mail of student absences (with or without excuse) when they reach the threshold of 38+ hours in a month or 65+ hours in a school year. This notice will be sent within 7 days of the absence that triggered the notice.
District Schedule to Notify Parents of Accumulated Student Absences:
|With or Without Legitimate Cause||38 hours in one school month (approx 5 days)||65 hours in one school year (approx 6 days)|
|Unexcused||30 or more consecutive hours (approx 4 days)||42 or more hours in 1 school month (approx 6 days)||72 hours in a school year (approx 10 days)|
NOTE: Hours of school missed due to tardies may be applied to the accumulated number of hours of unexcused absence in relation to ORC 3313.663, ORC 2151.011(B)(17), and HB 410 (mandatory attendance laws)
(Adult students with habitual tardies or absences may be withdrawn from school.)
PLEASE NOTE: A student’s driver’s license may be suspended by the State of Ohio upon notification of the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles by the school district when a student accumulated 60+ hours (9 days) of unexcused absences in a month, or 90+ hours (13 days) in a school year. Additionally, students who drop out of school may also lose their driver’s license ORC 3321.13 SEC. B2
Student Consequences for Unexcused Absences
- First offense – The student will receive one Extended School or 1-day AEP per each ½ day of unexcused absence.
- Second offense – The same penalty as the first offense.
- Third offense – The student may receive, but not limited to, three days of AEP or three Extended Schools, possible referral to the school’s attendance officer; and possible loss of school driving privileges (length of time determined by administration). Note: on the third unexcused absence, an attendance notice with information regarding HB 410 and State of Ohio mandated steps regarding compulsory attendance laws will be sent to the parent/guardian.
- Fourth Offense – Same as above (less letter to parent)
- Fifth offense – TRIGGERING EVENT: a fifth unexcused absence may require the parent and student to attend a parent involvement program (Attendance Intervention Meeting) and an Absence Intervention Plan (AIP) will be developed. As mandated by Ohio law, failure of the student to make satisfactory progress per the AIP will require a court complaint to be filed. The student may receive three days of AEP or three Extended Schools, possible referral to the school’s attendance officer; and possible loss of school driving privileges (length of time determined by administration); and other sanctions/measures as determined by the AIP.
- Any subsequent offenses – If the student has not made satisfactory progress per the AIP, a court complaint may be filed. Having subsequent offenses would be a strong indicator that satisfactory progress has not been made and court involvement becomes likely. The student may receive three days of AEP or three Extended Schools, possible referral to the school’s attendance officer; and possible loss of school driving privileges (length of time determined by administration); and other sanctions/measures as determined by the AIP.
Loss of Credit Policy
Students with excessive unexcused absences face the possible loss of credit. Students with 10 unexcused absences from any course may be removed from that course and may lose credit for that course after a due process hearing with the Principal and Guidance Counselor.
Students who arrive at school after the school day has begun through the first thirty (30) minutes of their school day will be counted tardy. Students arriving late to school are to report directly to the attendance office for an admit slip. Students may have three tardies per quarter without penalty, but all other tardies will receive discipline as per Code of Conduct unless a doctor’s note is supplied. A student who arrives at school after 7:58 am, or 30 minutes after the start of their school day, will be counted a ½ day absent, as will those who leave school before 1:55 pm. Students leaving school after 2:08 pm will be counted as a ½ day absent unless they provide a doctor’s excuse. Any absence of more than 3.5 periods may be counted as a full day of absence.
NOTE: Hours of school missed due to tardies will be applied to the accumulated number of hours of unexcused absence in relation to ORC 3313.663, ORC 2151.011(B)(17), and HB 410 (mandatory attendance laws).
Students must be in school/class within 30 minutes of the start of their school day in order to participate in any extracurricular or special in-school activities. The only exceptions will be those students who bring a doctor’s note regarding their late arrival/or early departure and before participation in extracurricular or special in-school activities that day (a minimum of one-half day attendance at school, as determined by the administration, is required); or situations approved by administration.
All tardies, both to school or to classes, are cumulative, through each nine-week grading period for disciplinary purposes.
Student Consequences for Tardies (per quarter)
- First through Third offense – No action will be taken
- Fourth & Fifth offense – Detention or 2 Lunch-detentions as determined by the administration, and/or possible assignment to in-school study groups. No credit for class work missed.
- Sixth through Eighth offense – One extended school or AEP (admin decision), and/or possible assignment to in-school study groups. No credit for missed class work.
- Subsequent Offenses: One extended school or AEP (admin decision), and/or possible assignment to in-school study groups. No credit for missed class work. Possible loss of parking permit (school driving privileges with length of time to be determined by administration).
Class-cuts are determined by the administration and occur when a student misses all or part of an assigned class without permission. A student who leaves the school building or school grounds without permission, and/or those who miss more than one class in a day, will be considered truant. Truancy is an unexcused absence and the hours of school missed may be applied to the accumulated number of hours of unexcused absence in relation to ORC 3313.663, ORC 2151.011(B)(17), and HB 410 (mandatory attendance laws)
Consequences for class cut:
- First offense & second offense– Extended School.
- Subsequent offenses – Three days AEP up to ten days suspension.
Students who drive/ride in a vehicle while being truant/class cut may lose driving privileges (length of time determined by administration).
There is no legal acceptable reason for any student to miss school in the name of a “skip day”. Therefore, any student participating in such an unauthorized activity shall be deemed truant and will be dealt with according to the rules of truancy/ unexcused absences.
Students are sometimes permitted to miss school for family vacations, job shadowing, and college visits. These absences must have prior approval of the administration. The student should bring a parent note to the attendance office requesting the pre-approved absence at least a day in advance of the day s/he is leaving. The student will carry a form, given to the student by the attendance office upon receipt of the parent note, to teachers to receive missed assignments. These assignments are due the day the student returns to school.
The administration will approve or not approve these requests based on the student’s academic standing, attendance record, and teachers’ input. It is the student’s responsibility to know whether the absence was approved or not approved by an administrator prior to missing school. (Refer to the “Guidance” section of this student handbook to read about college visits.)
Students are expected to conduct themselves in such a way that they respect and consider the rights of others. Students of the District must conform with school regulations and accept directions from authorized school personnel. The Board will not condone behaviors that are violent, disruptive, or inappropriate, that will impede or interfere with the educational processes of Valley View Local Schools.
A student who fails to comply with established school rules or with any reasonable request made by school personnel on school property and/or at school-related events is subject to approved student discipline regulations.
The Superintendent/designee develops regulations which establish strategies ranging from prevention to intervention to address student misbehavior.
Students and parents annually receive, at the beginning of the school year or upon entering during the year, written information on the rules and regulations to which they are subject while in school or participating in any school-related activity or event. The information includes the types of conduct which are subject to suspension or expulsion from school or other forms of disciplinary action. The Board directs the administration to make all students aware of the student code of conduct and the fact that any violations of the student code of conduct are punishable.
If a student violates this policy or the code of conduct, school personnel, students or parents should report the student to the appropriate principal. The administration cooperates in any prosecution pursuant to the criminal laws of the State of Ohio and local ordinances.
The Student Code of Conduct is made available to students and parents and is posted in a central location within each building. Adoption Date: 5/27/99
Legal, Ref: Orc.33113,20;3313.534;3313.66;3313.661;3313.662 OAC 3301-35-03
Cross Refs:ABC, Student Involvement in Decision Making EBC, Emergency Plans JFCAA, Student Dress Code JFCEA, Gangs JFCJ, Dangerous Weapons in the Schools JG, all subcodes Student Handbooks Valley View Junior High Code of Conduct